Yaoi and Yuri???

“I want to eat you, Chinatsu-Chan”


Many of you may be cringing, getting ready to leave, making a funny face, getting ready for the worst, or maybe you already left and have no clue that I am saying any of this. It’s all good. I mean look at that title, “My thoughts on Yaoi and Yuri dot dot dot” people the words Yaoi and Yuri and just run but if you are still here then thank you and I hope you find this a bit interesting. Let’s begin.

Disclaimer: I am not hating on anyone and do not have anything against Yaoi or Yuri. Also, I am going to keep the photos/gifs PG-13.


Yaoi is a Japanese genre of fictional media focusing on romantic or sexual relationships between male characters, typically aimed at a female audience.

yuri vs yaoi blog

As the definition above says Yaoi is typically aimed at a female audience, who are actually called “Fujoshi”.

Fujoshi (“rotten girl”) is a self-mockingly pejorative Japanese term for female fans of manga and novels that feature romantic relationships between men.

yaoi

These Fujoshi have a gay ship in pretty much every anime or manga. May it be a romance or a hardcore mecha. Like these girls ship Goku and Vegeta (*cough* incest *cough*). They also go damn psychotic when an anime or manga has a hint of Yaoi or shounen ai (an innocent version of yaoi). The most recent insane yaoi eruption was Yuri on Ice!! This anime was such a damn hit. It’s about ice skating or something. I have not seen it, so that is why I just gave you a half-assed synopsis.

Right about now you must be confused as hell wondering where this is going. I am getting there…chill.

Shall we move on to Yuri?

Yuri (“lily”) is a Japanese jargon term for content and a genre involving love between women in manga and anime and related Japanese media. Yuri focuses on the sexual orientation.

tumblr_n0p7d9kPi51sacez1o1_500

Unlike Yaoi, Yuri does not have a typical audience nowadays. Since Yaoi is aimed towards a female audience, you would probably think that Yuri is aimed towards a male audience. Well, you asshats thought wrong. Actually more girls like yuri than guys. Just like fujoshi’s, people who like Yuri, ship girls in any sort of anime. Like seriously there are girls who ship characters in the anime Corpse Party (the most gruesome anime I have ever come across). Like a girl gets her eye pulled out by a little girl while some grown ass man just stands there scared as fuck. I don’t know about you but I was cringing too much to even think about shipping anyone. So! As you see… people who like Yuri *raises hand* ship characters in any type of anime as well.

Now that I filled all of you guys in on what Yuri and Yaoi are, let me get into why the hell I am actually making this blog.


Why…why…Yaoi?

When you see straight relationships they are all sort of the same. There are Zen and Shirayuki, the adorable couple. Ikki and Stella, the bad ass couple. Kaori and Kousei, the why didn’t they get together oh right because *SPOILER ALERT* Kaori writes a note to Kousei in which she states that she loves him but then she fucking dies couple.

Wow, I got off track again.

Alright so yeah straight relationships are always pretty typical in some way but in yaoi, they are a lot different. Why? (I asked a friend who likes yaoi) Apparently, the relationships are a lot more passionate.  The story around the characters love is a lot more heartfelt. They help each other and fix each other’s flaws. They also accept each other even though they are not perfect. Most importantly, the characters are a lot different from characters you would see in a non-yaoi manga or anime.

Now… when I heard her say the whole “characters are a lot different” I immediately thought of Killing Stalking.

killing-stalking

I mean haha you can’t get any more original than that webtoon. A psychopathic serial killer (Songwoo) keeps his stalker (YoonBum) in his house and then they fall in love I guess. Sorry for another half-assed synopsis.

After listening to all of her reasons I thought to myself, “wow that was pointless”. Just kidding I’m not that heartless. Anyway. I decided to do some research on Yaoi so I went and looked Yaoi up on my best friend, google. I came across this —->

Yaoi started out in the 1970’s. So there were a bunch of Fujoshi skipping around Japan a long time ago. Shoujo manga magazines would publish shounen ai (boy love) stories. Those just consisted of platonic relationships between men. THEN it got weird. Why? Well, people started making fan fiction. Of course, since we are all disgusting, they were hella messed up. If you do not know what fan fiction is, it is just a parody of some form of writing. People would write fan fiction BUT they would sexualize it. THUS YAOI.

Like any form of writing, Yaoi has its own thematic elements. According to wiki, they are diminished female characters, gay equality, tragedy, and rape. Wait rape?

large

They’re wrestling.

Now back to my thoughts. Most… MOST Yaoi I have come across consist of rape and then the characters end up together? Like what in the world? Of course, there are yaoi that are all sweet but all in all, It just seems so rough and disturbing. I do not understand why they have to add rape or some sort of abuse. I really don’t like the fact that rape can be turned into some sort of rate of passion. That should have nothing to do with passion. It’s rape.  Now, I know this is fiction. So it does not really matter. For example, there’s a bunch of incest in anime (kiss x kiss) but it’s fiction so fuck it, but for the sake of my argument… rape is not right in any sort of platform.


Why…why… Yuri?

Well, two characters slowly fall in love in a weird but cute way. Where’s the rape? NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. Some of them are relatable (mostly webtoons). They make one feel a wide variety of emotions and the characters change so much throughout the story. The relationships are also so heartfelt. They are also sometimes hilarious as hell.

yuri

Yuri, of course, can get really weird. A lot of people have incest ships. I mean whatever but like ლ(ಠ_ಠლ)  Many of you will not know what I am talking but for example in an anime named Nisekoi, I ship Onodera (girl #1) with Raku (the dumbass) but if I had to pick a Yuri ship, I would choose Haru (Onodera’s sister) and Paula but a lot of people ship Onodera and Haru. Sisters. Why? I do not know.

Another example would be the manga Citrus. This manga does not revolve around incest because they are not blood-related but again the whole incest concept is sort of there. I am not sure what’s up with the whole incest thing. I guess it just ended up becoming some sort of odd trend.

Another example of something odd would be lolis. There are a lot of lolis in Yuri manga. ONE ULTRA SUPER EXAMPLE would be the manga Yuzumori-San. Mother of God it is so disturbing I can’t even look at it. The manga is pretty much about a lolicon.

Lolicon describes a fascination with cartoons of very young-looking girls. (So an 18-year old that looks like she’s 12)

Except in this manga, it’s not the usual loli you see in most anime and manga because the girl is ACTUALLY REALLY YOUNG. The high schooler is head over heels for a girl in elementary school. So bad… I am cringing just thinking about it.

Right about now you must be like what the hell you are just dissing Yuri. Well yeah, I pretty much am even though I love it. The thing is, I love yuri webtoons. Webtoons are the Korean equivalent of manga except they are in color. Webtoons never have lolis or incest. OH, AND they revolve around women that have already graduated high school so it’s better because they are fully developed and are not surging with dangerous hormones. It is also a lot more realistic.

One example would be the webtoon “what does the fox say” (WDTFS).

tumblr_o7v7sm807A1tw8nwgo1_500

Sumin a lady who had her heart-broken by a bitch falls into a pit of despair but is then made happy again by someone named Sungji. Then she fucks their relationship up. Although the webtoon contains stuff that are hella depressing. It contains hilarious stuff as well. Mostly Sungji’s innocence and how she is extra smooth without even noticing. This is not a review so I am not going to go into it. I’ll leave you with another half-assed synopsis and an end my pointless blog.

tumblr_nsmdaiMck41snz965o1_500

Their first kiss *inhumane screaming*

 


In the end, Yuri and Yaoi both have insane flaws but if I had to choose between Yuri and Yaoi, I would instantly choose Yuri. I am that type of girl who ships two girls all the time and flips shit when a hint of lesbianism appears in a manga, anime, or webtoon. You should give Yuri a try some day.

Thank you for reading my second blog. This was such a disaster haha. I will get better.

Have mercy.

Ccpp8ZZWIAE2PyYtumblr_o2pkjfNJUC1trx9pno1_500

*inhumane screaming intensifies*

Leave a Reply

